top of page
  • Khloe Toy

The Stressful State Test



Stress. A common feeling in April. At the beginning of the year, you may feel very carefree, and relaxed. However, as it gets close to April, it may not be so relaxing anymore. You have to write at least a dozen essays! Right after a peaceful spring break, a stressful test comes: the ELA state test. However, before you can get a break, the math state test comes. What a stressful time! Staying up late at night, waking up early in the morning, just so you can study, study, study! I asked my peers, what do you think about both of the state tests we will be taking soon? Here are the answers I received!:


Anonymous 1: I think that the state test is horrible and depressing. I don’t really know why it makes me feel this way, but I just don’t like it very much.


Anonymous 2: I think the state test isn’t that bad, but it’s annoying. The only thing it determines is whether someone gets into summer school or not. That's it.


Anonymous 3: I think the state test is just kind of annoying, because we spend all this time reading and writing like 15 essays just to prepare for one test.


Abigail of 605: I think it’s hard-ish, because it’s a major factor to determine our future and it makes kids really stressed!


Minsuk Kang 607: State test shouldn’t exist because it is very terrible and it’s the easiest tool to spread propaganda.


I believe that the state test is stressful at times, but once it is over, you realize that it helps you a lot. After taking the test, you may feel that your writing has improved, or that you are quicker at solving problems. So in the end, the state test can be helpful, but right now, all I see it as is stressful! What do you think?


39 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page