top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

The Last Hurrah of the 7th Grade!

The Last Hurrah of the 7th Grade!

From: Daniel Humphries

We’ve come a long way this school year. Whether you were partially in person last year or fully remote, we all made some big changes. We (hopefully) met some new people, and had a completely new and fun experience! We started switching classes and eating lunch at 10:30! And hopefully we all have some good memories this school year! In this article, I’m going to survey the 7th Grade to find some of these good (and bad) memories!


Q: What was your favorite part of 7th Grade this year?

Kevin L: Meeting new people.

Shelsey: Probably mid-way through the year where I actually started to hang out with people and make some new friends.

Jason He: My favorite part of the school year was meeting new people and making new friends.

A: I loved just hanging out with friends and meeting new people, kinda cliche but it's true.

TigerMZ: My favorite part of 7th grade this year was getting to make new friends. I also really liked band this year because I think music and learning a new instrument is very exciting.


Q: What was your least favorite part?

Kevin L: Spanish/science.

Shelsey: The beginning of the year (self explanatory).

Jason He: My least favorite part was wearing a mask until they lifted the mandate.

A: Definitely the homework, it got really overwhelming at times.

TigerMZ: My least favorite part was literally everything related to education.


Q: What’s one piece of advice you would give to yourself before starting the school year?

Kevin L: Get a new haircut.

Shelsey: Probably something like "Dude, why are you so LAME go talk to people you enclosed rat."

Jason He: One piece of advice I would give myself before starting the school year would be to keep notes of everything so I can study for tests.

A: None of the people in your class are monsters, talk to them a bit earlier in the year.

TigerMZ: A piece of advice I would give to myself at the start of the year is that you should work hard and try your best.


Q: How was this year different from last year?

Kevin L: This year was in person so things were a lot different.

Shelsey: It wasn't online so it was obviously very different.

Jason He: This year was different because I wasn't in front of a computer for 6 hours everyday, so this year I was actually talking to people in real life and not just through the chat function on Zoom. I mean I was making real friends so that was good.

A: I was online last year so I really didn't make any friends or interact with people too much, unlike this year where I was doing stuff like that.

TigerMZ: This year was different from last year because now you don’t have to wear masks and my class is not in a cafeteria all the time.


Q: What's one thing you wish you could change?

Kevin L: My haircut at the beginning of the year.

Shelsey: When we eat lunch, I swear it's not even lunch at that point it's breakfast twice.

Jason He: Something I want to change in 7th grade is the chaos some people cause in the hallways.

A: I wish more people would wear masks, it makes me really uncomfortable and it makes no sense to me, but whatever, I can't force my opinion on others.

TigerMZ: I wish I could change the amount of craziness in my school because the whole year there were people bothering me in some way which I definitely did not enjoy.


Q: What will you miss the most?

Kevin L: Certain teachers if I don't have them next year.

Shelsey: Everything, the teachers, my friends, hangin' out.

Jason He: One thing I will miss is all of my friends and teachers since they were all people that helped me through the year.

A: Hanging out with friends and little things like laughing at a joke with them or eating pizza etc. I’ll also miss my teachers, they all deserve a raise.

TigerMZ: I will miss absolutely nothing.


Q: What's one thing you're hopeful about next year?

Kevin L: Being with the same people from this year.

Shelsey: Maybe I won't be so silent and talk to others.

Jason He: Something I am hopeful about next year is meeting a lot of new teachers and friends.

A: I really hope that I can get into a good specialized high school. I also hope that I’ll have a lot of the same friends since I had a really chill class this year.

TigerMZ: I hope that next year I will be able to make new friends.


Q: Anything you would like to add before you become an eight grader?

Kevin L: No, not really.

Shelsey: If I go to summer school, it’ll be really embarrassing.

Jason He: I hope to learn a lot in Eighth Grade.

A: I really will miss seventh grade, good times.

TigerMZ: Something I would like to add before I would become an 8th grader is 7th grade was amazing and there will be nothing as great as it. (This is sarcasm.)


Well there you have it! This will be the last time I interview these students as seventh graders! I have personally loved my time in the 7th grade and I’m sure I’ll reminisce about it fondly. I hope you have enjoyed my articles this year and I hope they just get bigger and better next year, as I hope the newspaper will! Have a great summer everyone, see you next year!


28 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page