top of page
  • Jonathan Richman

The Book Sale: Scam or Super?



Last week we had the PTA Book sale. It was definitely a fun experience, however, partially, a let down. Why, though? Was it a bad book sale? No, it was great! However at this book sale, something was a bit lacking, and I think you will see what with this interview.


Here are the questions asked:

  • What was it like this year?

  • What books did you buy?

  • What were the prices like this year?


Here's what Daniel Humphries of Class 820 said: “It was the same thing as most book fairs, it was fun. You saw options of different books you wanted on the shelf and chose one. For the next question he said: “I bought a book called Final Season. I bought it for my ELA class because our unit is about contact sports and Ms. Kantor Recommended it.” When I asked Daniel what prices were like, he had a harsh answer: “TERRIBLE! $12 for 1 book, I can get that for way less ANYWHERE else! They were just trying to rip us off.” I definitely agree with this, the prices were crazy and many people do agree.

Next, I interviewed Elisa Hamilton of Class 801 and she has some similar opinions to Daniel. “It was like last year. They had a tax this year though.” Elisa bought 2 books. These books were called It Ends With Us and The Book thief. These are 2 well rated books. Lastly, Like Daniel, she thinks the prices are crazy. For just 2 books, it cost Elisa $30 and tax! Why were they taxing this year and why were they so high?


Next, I interview Pelagia Harris of Class 706. “The book sale was fine. They had food.” Pelagia said. Many students do say that the food part was a great addition to the book sale. We have never had this before! It’s great that they are expanding on what they sell now! Looks like it's good if you forgot your lunch that day (Pelagia did forget her lunch by the way, she did tell me.) She got 1 book called High School Musical the Musical the Series: In the Spotlight Nini and Rickey’s Stories. Wow that name is a mouth full, however, Pelagia also agrees that it is a good show as well as it being a good book. Lastly, she had an opinion that was different from Daniel, Elisa, and myself, and surprisingly did not care about the high prices! “I don’t pay attention to the prices.”


Lastly, I interviewed Daniel Campusano of Class 606. “It was pretty nice. It was definitely an improvement from the one back at the beginning of the year.” Daniel bought 2 Books. One book was called The Twisted Ones and one called Fnaf Character Encyclopedia. I have read the second book, it was actually very informative, and it did teach me something I didn’t know about the game Five Nights at Freddy’s. Lastly, the big question, everyone cares about, what were the prices like? “Definitely different than last time. Higher, probably because of inflation and taxes. I was not a fan of the prices this year.”


I think most of us enjoyed the book sale this year, and the prices of all of the books, however, the prices! 3 out of 4 people interviewed HATED the prices. Maybe the Scholastic can take a tip from this article and try to make the prices lower if this many people hate them. Besides the prices, I think everyone enjoyed the sale made by the PTA! And you know, everyone always loves buying a fresh book from the school book sale!

24 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page