top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn Toy

Thank You, “Curious Times”

Thank You, “Curious Times” by Kaitlyn Toy

My time as the Student Editor-in-Chief of “The Curious Times” has undoubtedly been a memorable and valuable experience. It feels like only yesterday that we began the journey from being mostly behind a computer screen, to discussing issues around our community and building up our voices. Our online school newspaper is easily accessible for the next generation of Marie Curie students to build up their voices in our school.


It has been a great pleasure working with my fellow newspaper staff throughout the school year. We were able to learn and grow with each other, while making new friends along the way. I truly appreciate all the hard work and great leadership of Mr. Ng and Ms. Hughes, who has reminded us that student voices are just as powerful and impactful as any other. A big thank you to the Marie Curie M.S.158Q administration for supporting us every step of the way. Although I am looking forward to the beginning of my high school journey, the exceptional “Curious Times” staff will be missed and I will embrace these memories for the years to come.


I have participated in the school newspaper for both seventh and eighth grade. Within the duration of these two years and my experience as student editor-in-chief, I have grown both academically and socially. As a staff, we have learned that certain news can be fun, such as reviewing our favorite K-pop groups or movies. Furthermore, we learned to have no fear in reporting some serious issues in our immediate community and around the world. I am fortunate to have had the opportunity to take a leadership role in our school newspaper. Students were able to gain confidence in themselves, in only a few short months after living through a pandemic. I hope that the team and new recruits will continue to leave their own legacies as influential student voices at Marie Curie Middle School.


To the school newspaper’s next student editor-in-chiefs to come: I wish you all the best and I am sure you will obtain valuable experience from this. We have such an extraordinary staff, it’s difficult to not let the fun take over your responsibilities. Remember to maintain a balance!


To our current school newspaper staff: You guys are great! I had so much fun and such a memorable year. You all have such great potential and talent!


To my fellow eighth graders, the Class of 2022: Congratulations! Although the COVID-19 pandemic was a challenging time, nonetheless it was still an amazing three years. I made many new friends, laughs, and unforgettable memories that I will cherish forever. Good luck in all your future endeavors.


To all students, participating in the school newspaper is a great opportunity to improve your writing, keep abreast of school events, make new friends, and allow your opinions/voices to be heard. Good luck everyone, have fun!


Thank You, “Curious Times”

Kaitlyn Toy, Student Editor-In-Chief 2022

8th Grade, Class 821

M.S.158Q Marie Curie


99 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page