top of page
  • Timothy Lai and Emma Samanta

Earthquake? In New York?



Natural disasters are phenomena that are caused by nature itself. Such as hurricanes, tsunamis, flooding, heat waves and last but not least, earthquakes. On April 5, 2024, during school at approximately 10:30am, a 4.8 magnitude earthquake struck Tewksbury, a town in New Jersey, around 10:20am. New York also felt the earthquake, for about 10 seconds. It was found that the earthquake was able to travel 50 miles, in the west area of NYC.


The earthquake was able to spread through all of the New York City area, Albany, Philadelphia and other areas in the Northeast USA. As a result, airports in the New York City area were not allowed to have planes take off, tunnels held cars, and the students at M.S 158 weren’t allowed to go outside for recess.


The last earthquake that left all 5 boroughs of NYC shook was around 13 years ago. Although this is an earthquake, so far no one has been found injured. It brought shock to some people, with numerous phone alerts, but it also brought curiosity to others. We have input from other people in M.S 158 to see what stories they have of the event. 


Mrs. Bergfeld, 6th Grade Social Studies

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake

A: It felt like shaking and vibrations from the ground. I thought there was drilling or construction outside.


Anonymous Student, 620:

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: I was like “Woah, what’s that?” At the moment I was watering a plant during science class, then I felt shaking. My teacher even got a phone call from her daughter! 


Dr. Nottingham, Dean

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: I was talking to a student. Suddenly, I felt shaking. I said, “What’s that?” I went to look out of my window, wondering if that was an earthquake, or not. I didn’t see anything, but then, I got a call asking me if I was okay, then I knew it was an earthquake. 


Jonathan Richman, 805

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: I was sitting in a chair in the back of the auditorium, with my foot on the ground. I felt like my foot was being massaged. 


Christiana Raji, 705

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: I was in math class, and Mr. Comer was there. When it started rumbling, for 5-ish seconds, I immediately started to jump and thought it was an earthquake. It was confirmed when Mr. McHugh confirmed it over announcements. Overall, it was exciting because it was chill and no one was hurt.


Ms. Rey, 6th Grade Humanities, 7th Grade Mindfulness and ELA

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: It felt like vibrations from the ground, like there was a drill in the ground. However, the “drilling” didn’t stop. The students were flustered, I was flustered, it was very chaotic.  


Mrs. Dias, 6th grade science teacher, and 7th grade health teacher

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: Excitement.


Mr. Ng, 7th grade English teacher

Q: What did you feel during the earthquake?

A: At first I thought "Man I am not this hungry am I?" Then I thought "something in the cafeteria blew up." Then when I realized we were above the lunchroom, if something blew up we would fall in to the lunchroom. So, then I reasonably thought "oh it's a hurricane." I wasn't scared, I just didn't know what to you.


Although New York City has gone through some horrific events we survived this earthquake. Many people may be excited, or worried, however we overcame this disaster. What matters is that everyone is safe and sound, not injured, and disrupted.

  


64 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page