top of page
  • Daniel Humphries

Study and Stress: The 7th Grade Perspective on the State Test

By: Daniel Humphries


It’s that time of year again! Mark it in your calendars and get ready to get no sleep, it's the state test! It’s been quite a while since we’ve all taken a state test, (unless you decided to take it in sixth grade.) How does the seventh grade feel about taking a state test again? Are they stressed? Did they take it all? Hopefully this article will answer all of these questions.


Q: How do you feel about the state test in general?

Christy Fu: To be honest, the state test wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I haven’t taken a state test in a while, so before taking it I thought it was going to be really stressful, with stuff like choosing between 2 answers making me really worried before I actually took the test.

Mason Kim: I think that the state test is kind of unnecessary, since your teachers can already base your skill off of previous assignments.

Kevin Liao: I'd rather not take it, but I can live with it.

TigerMZ: To be honest I was very afraid but I just told myself to believe!

Christina T: In my opinion I feel like it’s a waste of time.

Alexander Huang: I think it's stressful but is an important part of your school record and a good way to see where your grade level is at.

A: I feel that the state test in general is mainly to show what you have learned the past few months in school and it sort of summarizes it all up in one booklet.


Q: Did you take it this year?

Christy Fu: Yes, I took the state test this year.

Mason Kim: I took it this year.

Kevin Liao: Yes, I took it.

TigerMZ: Yes, and I will continue to take it.

Christina T: I didn't take it this year.

Alexander Huang: Yes I took it this year.

A: Yes, I did take it this year.


Q: Why or why didn't you take it this year?

Christy Fu: I took it this year because I thought it might be an important thing to do, although people are entitled to their opinions.

Mason Kim: I took it this year because I didn't know I could opt out.

Kevin Liao: I took it this year because my mom forced me to.

TigerMZ: I took it this year because every year I take it to see what I improved on and what I need help with.

Christina T: I didn’t take this year because I feel like it's unnecessary.

Alexander Huang: I took it this year to see where my grade level is at and to have a slightly higher chance of getting into a good school.

A: I took the state test this year because it’s been a while since I’ve taken the state test and I wanted to see how I’ve done these past few months in 7th grade.



Q: When's the last time you took a state test? Did you take it in sixth grade?

Christy Fu: I would say the last time I took the state test was in fourth or fifth grade; I’m not sure. No, I did not take it in sixth grade.

Mason Kim: The last time I took a state test was in 4th grade and I didn't take it in 6th grade.

Kevin Liao: The last time I took a state test was in fourth grade and I did take it in sixth grade.

TigerMZ: I took it last year, aka 6th Grade.

Christina T: I’ve never taken it before.

Alexander Huang: Last time I took a state test was in 4th grade. I did not take it in 6th grade.

A: The last time I took the state test was in 4th grade. No, I didn't take the state test in 6th grade.


Q: Why or why didn't you take it in sixth grade?

Christy Fu: I didn’t take the state test in sixth grade because I personally didn’t feel like taking it. Especially since at the time the pandemic was worse than it is now. I didn’t want to catch a cold or COVID.

Mason Kim: I didn't take it in 6th grade because it wouldn't change anything and it was optional.

Kevin Liao: I took it in 6th grade cause my mom forced me to.

TigerMZ: I took it in 6th grade for the same reason of why I’m taking it this year.

Christina T: I didn't take it for the same reason I didn't take this year's test.

Alexander Huang: I did not take it in 6th grade because of COVID.

A: I didn’t take the state test in 6th grade because COVID impacted my learning a lot those past few months before the test and I felt that I didn’t really learn much in 6th grade.


Q: What would you change about how we take the state test?

Christy Fu: I don’t think we need to change anything, I think everything is fine as it is now.

Mason Kim: I would change the length of the state test for it to be shorter and less stressful.

Kevin Liao: I would change the number of short responses, I feel it's excessive and makes it more stressful.

TigerMZ: I don’t think anything needs to be changed because all the rules are good and perfectly disciplinary.

Christina T: We need more things to do for kids who opted out. (Not work)

Alexander Huang: I would change the fact that we only have 1 day to finish each section. Sometimes the questions require a lot of thinking and kids may need more than 1 day.

A: There is not much I would change about the state test, but I feel like when it's lunch, they should let us socialize a little bit because being silent in a room for a couple of periods feels not only weird but very boring.


Q: What other tests that are coming up are you afraid of taking?

Christy Fu: I’m planning on taking the SHSAT (which lets you get into special high schools that are better than normal high schools), which is kind of making me nervous for eighth grade. There’s a time limit, which is different from the state test, and it worries me. I’m practicing by taking practice tests of the SHSAT. Each question should take you about 1-2 minutes to answer (in order to complete the test within the time limit.) This really stresses me out, because I hope I can get a good score when I take the SHSAT.

Mason Kim: A test that is coming up that I am afraid of taking is the SHSAT since it kind of determines my future.

Kevin Liao: The SHSAT, it seems really hard.

TigerMZ: I’m very afraid of doing the essay part of the ELA state test! (When I interviewed him we hadn't taken it yet.)

Christina T: The SHSAT and Regions.

Alexander Huang: The SHSAT, it seems scary.

A: A test that is coming up that I’m afraid of is the SHSAT which, from what I’ve heard, is very difficult and has high school type of questions on it and I’m in middle school taking high school level questions so yeah.


As you can see there is a wide range of opinions about the state test! Some people think it’s unnecessary and some people think it’s a great way to see how much they’ve learned! What do you think about the state test? When was the last time you took it? Did you even know you could opt out? Or did your parents force you to take it? Will you, or have you already taken the SHSAT?


  1. How do you feel about the State Test in general?

  2. Did you take it this year?

  3. Why or why didn't you take it this year?

  4. When's the last time you took a state test? Did you take it in sixth grade?

  5. Why or why didn't you take it in sixth grade?

  6. What would you change about how we take the state test?

  7. What other tests that are coming up are you afraid of taking?

32 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page