top of page
  • Gabriel Nuxoll

Opinion: i-Ready Diagnostic and Lessons



It is that time of the year, no not Christmas. Nope, it is not Halloween. You know that time of the season: the i-Ready Diagnostic! Alright, maybe using the exclamation is a bit over exaggerating. In my opinion, everyone hates iReady, but there are a few weirdos who find iReady useful (Mr. Ng is a nerd). According to the iReady Family Center, the reason why iReady exists is for reading and/or mathematics that will help your student’s teacher(s) determine your student’s needs, personalize their learning, and monitor progress throughout the school year. i-Ready allows your teacher(s) to meet your student exactly where they are and provides data to increase your student’s learning gains. i-Ready consists of two parts: Diagnostic and Personalized Instruction.


Many students just finished the iReady Diagnostic. The reason for the diagnostic is to torture students...I mean...iReady is an adaptive assessment that adjusts its questions to suit your student’s needs. Each item a student sees is individualized based on their answer to the previous question. For example, a series of correct answers will result in slightly harder questions, while a series of incorrect answers will yield slightly easier questions. The purpose of this is not to give your student a score or grade, but instead to determine how best to support your student’s learning.


We asked students and teachers, “What is your opinion on the i-Ready Lessons & Diagnostic?” Here are their answers.


  • Chloe Lin 705: “Kinda fun and um I didn’t understand some of the texts but I enjoyed the quiet time”

  • Shreela Lin 703: “I got to read Shakespeare stuff bro!”

  • Jonathan Richman 805: “Both of them are terrible. I think I-Ready is not healthy, it should get banned.”

  • Laila Duque 708: “I hated it. It was annoying to deal with.”

  • Rua Kim 708: “It’s okay I guess, it’s better than normal classes.”

  • Christiana Raji 705: “I don’t know.”

  • Chloe Liang 620: “It sucks, it's one of the worst things”

  • Nadia Tsou 620: “It sucks, it wastes time, there are stupid animations that waste time and there are glitches in the system”

  • Toby Kang 707: “I hate it, I wish it didn’t exist”

  • Cynthia Li 707: “My opinion on I-Ready is that it can help students with ELA and Math yet boring and exhausting but it is useless since we mostly know the topics given.”

  • Anasofia Duque 702: “Overall, most of the students in this school do not like I-Ready diagnostics or the lessons/assignments. I think it can be a little exhausting at some times and can be frustrating too. Some pressure can be built with the assignments of i-Ready because of how time-consuming they are.”

  • Gabriel Nuxoll 706: “i-Ready is the biggest waste of time ever. It takes me 30 minutes to finish a math i-Ready. Plus it does not help my math skills and reading comprehension improve. i-Ready causes too much stress and affects your grade WAY TOO MUCH. You literally get one question wrong, you get a 86; two questions wrong, A 73.

  • Mr. Ng: “I think that is a useful academic tool that gives teachers an idea of how we could continue to support students in reading and math. It would definitely improve students' reading comprehension and math skills.”


19 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page