top of page
  • Abigail Mo

How much technology is good/bad?




Pew, pew, pew! Playing video games sure is fun, but is it good for us?

For all the parents out there that stumble upon this, I’m sure you're wondering…

  • Why can’t I get my kid off their electronics?

  • What’s going on in that head of theirs?

  • How can I get them off?

WHY?

Well, there is a reason why sometimes, it seems like your kid just can't stop! Scientific research shows that when someone plays video games continuously, it actually hooks into our brain and changes the structure! That’s scary, and I don’t want that to happen. I’m sure you don’t.


HOW CAN I STOP THIS?

Unfortunately, if someone has video games hooked into their brain, it’s not permanent, but it takes 90 days for the brain to adapt to not having the entertainment. In those ninety days, it’s best to read, write, talk, exercise, and most importantly, go outside! There are several proven benefits of exercise, including the fact that when you exercise, a fluid is released into your brain, which makes your brain more capable to understand things it couldn’t before! So, next time you’re doing your homework and don’t get it, try kicking a ball, or just moving around!


How MUCH?

Well, a study conducted by the American Academy of Pediatrics found that kids over the age of six should spend no more than two hours a day on video games and that kids under the age should spend no more than 30 minutes.. But let’s be honest-ever since the pandemic, even in school learning orbits around computers. Otherwise, how else would I be typing this article in social studies? Lesson plans on the computers-a smartboard>

I’m not gonna lie. I spend 55.555 percent of my time on devices. However-monkey say-not monkey do! I appreciate technology for the entertainment it provides on lonely sunday nights-but I do think that we can limit our time? What do you think?

31 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page