top of page
  • Abigail Mo

How Have Computers Affected Our Learning?



Computers, computers, computers. Everyday, from Monday to Friday, kids and teachers, adults, boys and girls, attend school. We all sit down and take out our laptops. However, that wasn’t always the case, and that brings me to today’s topic. How have computers affected your in-school learning?


In late March of 2020, a quarantine was issued shutting down all NYC DOE schools, which brought us to virtual learning. Some saw it as a dream come true, I mean, eating whenever, sleeping whenever, while others saw it as a nightmare. No seeing friends or family, always worried.. This brings me to my second topic. The quarantine, horrid, or happy? When we got back to school, the majority got computers to work with, and so began online lessons, in person friends, and a normal routine. Although, I’m sure everyone misses slurping a bowl of noodles during math class, I know I do!


Here are some opinions from your peers, if you would like to share your opinion, fill out the form below!


  • Student 1: I think that computers have affected our learning because every day during my classes, I see some students secretly playing games on their devices. Even though they get caught, what if they are so desperate as to continue doing it anyways? Also, I hear my teachers telling us to get off our devices because it’s bad for our eyes. If it’s bad for our eyes, why are we learning in a virtual world? Computers are also too heavy, and I break my back every day. Computers are definitely NOT the best way to learn.

  • Tyler and Olivia 605: They affect our learning because they make our lives easier. But, some irresponsible kids keep breaking their laptops, and our school can’t afford it.

  • Student 4: Computers are a big part of our everyday lives, and have really impacted our learning experiences. Almost every class I have incorporates computers in some way, either in the classroom or for homework. I use electronics in general to communicate with my classmates, teachers, and other people in general.


Additionally, studies show computers associated with learning can have both positive and negative effects on learning. A study conducted in 2023 suggested that students who use computers everyday at school have significantly higher achievement scores than those who use computers between once a week and once a month. However, there are always negative effects on too much technology, because studies have also shown that technology comes with social comparison, feelings of missing out, and cyberbullying. What do you think? The quarantine, happy or horrid? How have computers affected your in person learning? Fill out the form down below, because everyone likes getting their voice heard! How have computers changed learning?

4 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page