top of page
  • Khloe Toy

Does School Start Too Soon?



Every day, students and teachers are required to be in school by 8:00 AM. However, some may agree that school starts too early, and it’s a pain to wake up at 7:00 AM or earlier every day. I asked my peers, do you think 8:00 AM is a reasonable time to start school? Here are the responses I have received!


Abigail 605: “8:00 is not a very reasonable time to start school because students have to stay up late trying to finish their homework, and then they don’t get enough sleep. If school started about an hour later, the students would be more awake and alert during class.”


Person 2: “I think that 8:00 is not a good time to start school because students go to sleep late sometimes when doing homework, and they’re really tired in the morning when they wake up. If school started a few hours later or just one hour later, it could really help students.”


Person 3: “I think that 8:00 AM is not a reasonable time because I consider it to be like rush hour. There are way too many people driving.”


Person 4: “I think that 8:00 AM is a reasonable time because it is not too early nor too late.”


Person 5: “It depends, because it could be okay if I wake up early, and vice versa.”


All of the answers I got from these students were fabulous. My opinion is that 8:00 AM is not very reasonable because there is a lot more work now that we are in middle school. It’s not like elementary school where you barely have to do anything. I know that many of my friends and classmates go to bed at around 10:00 PM and they are exhausted. Some parents may find this time good because since they have to do their own work, they have a lot to handle, in fact, too much to keep an eye on a kid too. I believe there should be programs for before and after school because if parents are too busy, they could send their kids to a program for before school and keep them there, only if the child is okay with it too. Overall, I think that most students can agree that 8:00 AM is too early to begin school, so they should start school later in the day.

Please fill out this Google Form to give YOUR opinion!: Google Form Link

13 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page