top of page
  • Writer's pictureDANIEL HUMPHRIES

Battle of the Classes: The 8th Grade Perspective



Last Friday students from every grade gathered in the gymnasium for a competition. This competition would prove once and for all, which grade was superior? Spoiler alert: it was the Eighth Grade. The final score was 490 for the Eight Grade, 475 for the Seventh Grade, and 430 for the Sixth Grade. Today I interviewing some of the Eight Grade contestants about competing in the event and Mr. Giorgianni who organized it.


Student Interview:


Q: What made you want to compete in the event?

A: I like fun activities.

Ryan Mcree: Well I just knew that the 8th graders needed me for some activities so I couldn't let them down.


Q: What games did you compete in?

A: I did knockout, hungry humans simon says, and whatever that word game was called.

Ryan Mcree: I competed in Knockout, Rock Paper Scissors, Simon Says, Hungry Humans, Jump Roping, and Up and Under.


Q: What was your favorite game?

A: Knockout was my favorite.

Ryan Mcree: Knockout.


Q: How did it feel to win?

A: Winning felt like destroying a bunch of cheaters 😎.

Ryan Mcree: It felt great because 6th and 7th grade was cheating throughout the whole thing so it felt good for us to get our rights.


Q: Do you think the schools should do this event again in the future?

A: They should do the event again but next time don't be biased to the 6th grade.

Ryan Mcree: I think so because this event seems really fun for students to improve their skills in any type of sports and games. It also helps students communicate with each other.



Mr. Giorgianni Interview:


Q: Have you ever held this event before?

Mr. G: About twelve years ago we used to do something called Competition Night which I did for about three or four years. But then I had children and it became a lot more difficult to spend a lot of time organizing it.


Q: What made you want to hold the event this year?

Mr. G: Well I was also in the classroom for about 8-9 years and I’ve only been back in the gymnasium for three or four. Some of those years were COVID years and we weren’t really doing anything so I wanted to bring it back and do something different.


Q: How did you decide what games to host?

Mr. G: About half of them were from the original Competition Night and some of the other ones were from this amazing website called Youtube. I also did some games that I had done in class and that I thought could make a good game. Overall I just wanted to get kids moving.


Q: Who designed the T-Shirts?

Mr. G: It was a combination of an old design from the original Competition Night and some suggestions from students. However the final design was made by Ms. Biondo and I.


Q: Were you happy with how the event turned out?

Mr. G: I think everything went pretty smoothly, I feel like the ten events flowed. I wasn't sure time wise how it would go and I think next year a few things can be cleaned up to keep things moving faster. I also think I can add some games next year. However I did have a larger aspiration in terms of the quantity of people. But I think people were hesitant because we were holding it for the first time. I think next year there will be more people.


Q: Are you going to hold the event again in the future?

Mr. G: We’ll be holding it next year, I mean I have some extra T-Shirts. I think I’ll make a few adjustments and everything will go smoother.


A quick disclaimer: I wanted to get this article out while the news was fresh so I only had time to interview 8th Graders, so they might be a little biased. Personally, I think the event was really fun and I’m sad I won’t be able to do it again next year! What did you guys think if you attended the event? If you are not in the Eighth Grade and did it will you be doing Battle of the Classes next year? If you didn't do it this year will you be doing it next year?

49 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page