top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

6th Grade Perspective of Arts Classes

By: Enoch Yip and Jonathan Richman


In M.S. 158, everyone has to attend an arts class. It’s either band, visual arts, dance, or chorus. But, have you ever wondered why your friend would choose that specific art class? Have you ever wondered why your friend always talks about their art class? What is so special about that class? Since we choose an art class when we are in sixth grade and stay in that class until eighth grade, it’s hard to see what other art classes do. We interviewed people from all the different art classes, so you could understand how they are. Here is a sixth grade perspective for the four different arts classes.


Band


Our school has the best band teacher in the whole county of Queens, the most instruments owned in the districts, and Mrs. Schecter with over 19 years of experience! This year in the band, there are some changes such as instruments now needing custom masks. But, it still hasn't stopped people from enjoying the class. This is what 6th grader Hugo Cowan says about his experience so far, “I am in band. I choose band because I like playing musical instruments. I chose a band because I want to learn how to play more musical instruments.” For the students that don’t take band, I hope you understand the student experience in Marie Curie Middle School’s band.


Visual Arts


With two art classes, visual arts has the most students in 6th grade. Without a doubt, it's our most popular class. Sixth grader Caitlyn Ng said, “I’m in art classroom 330 and my teacher is Mrs. Abamont. I joined art because I wanted to improve my art skills and learn new techniques. I like that my classmates are helpful and funny. Whenever I get stuck, I ask for their advice and I instantly get inspiration.” This student explains about their love for this amazing art class.

Here is what 6th grader Timothy Um thinks about our amazing art program. “My teacher is Mr. Gordon and I'm in the arts class. I chose arts because I wanted to get better at drawing and wanted to try something new. Something I like about art is that it helps me look at the world in a different way and lets me express my feelings in the drawings I make.” This student likes art because he can draw his expressions through his art. He likes what he gets to draw because of what he gets to express.



Dance


Our amazing dance program has many great reviews, thanks to Ms. Navre. Our friend Stephanie Chen said this, “My teacher is Ms. Navre and I'm in dance class at M.S.158. I chose dance because I danced for 6 years in hip hop. My mom signed up for this hip-hop class for me just to keep me active. What I like about this dance class is that Ms. Navre is very fun to work with and I have a lot of fun at dancing when Ms. Navre lets us create our own dance! Ms. Navre also picks a song which is like a very sunny and fun dance. Our dance name is fun dance where it has a cool beginning!” Stephanie says that Ms. Navre is very encouraging and fun!



Chorus


Chorus is such a great idea for an arts class. It lets kids show their creativity in song. It lets them express what they are feeling through the joy of music. Here is what 6th grader Pelagia Harris thinks about chorus. “I am in chorus. I choose chorus because I like to sing and chorus helps me relieve stress. I like the chorus because it is the only class that is stress-free for me. I like to sing so this is really enjoyable for me.” For kids who are not in the chorus, it’s really a great idea. I feel the chorus is a great way to show how you feel and show what you know about singing.


Besides your own, this is what happens in the other arts classes. Take that into perspective. Then the next time someone talks to you about the arts class that you are not in, you will understand what they are talking about. Now you will never feel left out when your friends are talking about their arts class and you don’t understand.


34 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page