top of page
  • Tobias Kang

Time to BOOGIE

So, as a dance student, I had some isolation being one of the only boys, but I’m still delighted with what I have to offer! But what is it about? This article is for reporting on how we got from dance amateurs to masters of dance.


The selection time at the beginning of 6th grade was a disaster for me. Chorus, Band, Dance, and Fine Arts all sounded great, so I decided to choose the ones that felt as if I hadn’t tried before in my life and the things I never dared try because of my parents... Okay, scratch that. Anyways, I decided to choose the dance class with Teacher Paterson (possibly the other groups look cool t... never mind. If you’re reading this, then I’m sorry, Teacher Paterson!)


The dances were uncomplicated when we started the dance class. It is assumed they “tested” who was better at dances for the two songs. (6A was better at Boogie Shoes, I guess? And maybe 6B was better at Fly With Me?) After New Year’s, we started on our dances, us doing Boogie Shoes and for 6B Fly With Me. It was painful... I mean a FUN experience learning the whole dance!


But that doesn’t matter (for now, though it's very critical) since I had to ‘Go Big or Go Home’ in the last week of March. For Mar 27, 2023 we had our performance in front of the whole dance group, which, according to my friend Britney H. (607) “Was terrible!” in our views, but I can’t forget the moment when they cheered for us (I think my soul was escaping at that moment,) apparently, they liked it! I felt so thrilled at lunch to hear that they enjoyed it, I felt very confident for the day of the concert. Surely I won’t mess it up... right?


Yes. I messed up. Everything was okay, until the 7th period, when I couldn’t find my jazz shoes. I was so panicked but I just managed to wear (random) jazz shoes that I found. I thought it was the end, but the day after the assemblies, I was getting dressed up, when the shoes went missing again! I thought it was at the shoe racks, but it wasn’t there, and I forgot the fact that I put the shoes with my costumes, but at the last second, my friends Jojo Zhang (6A) and Britney Huang (6A) saved my life by finding my shoes. (Just wanted to say, thank you, Jojo and Britney!) And except for that, everything was mighty fine if we don’t talk about the speaker.


But this is not the whole story! Let’s go ask around the school!


Jojo Zhang (Performer from 6A): It’s really fun at the start but people just started yelling and everyone was pushing, so the stage could pretty much hear it. That’s the only downside but the good part is that I had fun remembering the dance.


Aiden Li (Audience from 6A): It was okay, but it’s just that my hands hurt from clapping.


Sophia Cherry (Audience from 803): I was very intrigued by the performances. Although some didn't exactly pique my interest, it was fun chatting with my friends the whole time. I enjoyed viewing kids from the theater club that I knew dance, filling me with a sense of pride. All in all, I believe everyone did an amazing job, and that it was a really fun night.



19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page