top of page
  • Tobias Kang

Korea in FIFA 2022!



This year, the FIFA World Cup 2022 is being held in Qatar. (Most people know that, right?) And I’m pretty sure everybody is watching FIFA right now, like me, who is writing this in the first half of Netherlands v. Ecuador, seeing the Netherlands national team shooting a goal. But that’s not what this is about. This is about S. Korea v. Ecuador, the game held on Thanksgiving.


So, let’s talk about this game's base, team information, and tidbits. First of all, let’s start with the base. The game was between the Korean National Team and versus Ecuadorian National Team, and the game was held in the Education City Stadium in the city of Ar-Rayyan, and it was held at 8 a.m., on 11/24/2022, which was thanksgiving day.


Now, let’s talk about team information. The Korean team’s formation was 4-2-3-1, meaning there were 6 defensive players and 4 offensive players. The team included Son Heung-Min, Lee Jae-Sung (bet you don’t know who this is), Hwang Hee-Chan, and Lee Gang-In. He is known because of this joke saying the Korean national team reached 2nd place in a cup that I forgot because his name sounds like “the second place man”.


By the way, About S. Korea v. Ghana, I have to say that I was kind of disappointed because of how they lost 2-3, so I’m just like, “Oh no!” and stuff, but I am just hoping that the tiger power will come back and beat Portugal like they beat Germany in 2018. But, whatever anyone says, I will still root for S. Korea primarily, while I support Team USA and Team Japan secondarily. (But we’ll need that Tiger Power again to beat Brazil, though...)대한민국 이겨라!!!!!! (that means Win big, S. Korea!!!!!)


And I feel very proud to say that South Korea won against Portugal's soccer team, (The Tiger Power!) and I would like to say, they got into the Round of 16, meaning they had a Double Tiger Power!!! I am thankful that 2 points weren’t enough against 3 points (ha) so yeah. So all teams that I support is in the round of 16, and I am VERY thrilled.


Some tidbits are:

  • The Korean national anthem, or Aeggukga (애국가), has five different solos, but they only sang the first one & the chorus.


I don’t know what else to say, but I’ll say that I hope S. Korea will overcome Portugal. As always I will give you some links for you to visit.



Thank you, FIFA!!


20 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page