top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

John Madden, SYNONYMOUS with Football

John Madden was a man of many lives. Those “lives” were everything to do with football. He was a football player, Defensive Coordinator and Linebackers Coach, Assistant Coach, HeadCoach, Sports Commentator and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.


John Madden was drafted out of California Polytechnic State University (Cal Poly) in the 21st round (244th overall pick) to the Philadelphia Eagles in 1958. He sadly shredded his knee in his FIRST EVER training camp, effectively ending his playing career without having the opportunity to play professionally. But then he went to coach. He coached great in college, effectively helping him land a job as a Linebackers Coach for the Oakland Raiders of the AFL from 1967 to 1968. Then he became the Oakland Raiders head coach in 1969, when they merged in the NFL.


John Madden led the Raiders to a Super Bowl Championship, beating the Minnesota Vikings in 1976. Happy with getting raised on his players’ shoulders for the Super Bowl tradition, he retired after the 1978 season having never had a losing season, not to mention being the youngest coach to reach 100 total victories, making him one of the greatest coaches of all time.


John Madden then went to broadcasting! He was a color commentator, which is an expert play-by-play sports analyst and broadcaster. For 30 years, his broadcasts were full of enthusiasm, descriptive sounds like BAM! and DOINK!, and drawing plays so viewers could understand, winning 16 Emmy awards in the process!


John Madden’s name is synonymous with football, so much so that when in 1984 EA Sports founder Trip Hawkins wanted to make a football video game, he asked John Madden to help with his expertise of the game, to endorse it and to use his name. ”Madden NFL” has been with us ever since.


What I liked most about what I learned about John Madden is that you can be anything you want to be and then you can go on and be something else, and then go on to be happy about being something more. He really was an inspiration and an example of a person that lived a life with many lives, many happy lives.


Now it’s Time for some StUdEnT/Teacher PeRsPeCtIvE!


The following question was asked: “How did you feel about John Madden’s Passing?”


Mr. Ng: The first Madden I owned was Madden 95. At the time, I thought it was the greatest game ever made. I would spend Sundays playing Madden 95 with my cousin and we used every single team. When I heard about John Madden passing away, I thought back to my childhood and glad that was a part of my life.


Mrs. Schifaudo: “I knew there was a video game called Madden which simulated the game American football with real players. Some would say that if an NFL player made the cover of Madden the upcoming season would be sad for the people who loved John Madden. Honestly, I assumed he was a coach, but didn’t know for what team until recently. John Madden lived a life it seemed doing what he truly enjoyed, and he will be missed by all!”


Daniel Humphries: “I think that it’s a shame that an icon is gone. I knew him the most through the games but I'm sure the world will miss him!”


Joseph Carrano: “The only reason I knew him is from the video game!”


Yassin Gawish: “It’s very unexpected and sad. I loved playing the game Madden 21!”


Sebastian San Miguel: “I mostly knew him from the games. But it’s sad!”


John Madden lived a life to the FULLEST! And BAM that is the end of my article!



50 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page