top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

Exclusive Mr. McHugh Interview



At times students may think a visit to the Principal's office means they are in trouble. The insecurities are disspelled in the Marie Curie Middle School community. Our Prinicpal, Mr. McHugh always has his door open for student feedback (well obviously we need to check in with Ms. Allyn and not just storm into his office) Mr. McHugh is always outside greeting students as they begin their day in school.


Finding time in his busy schedule, I was able to conduct an interview with our school’s Principal Mr. McHugh. I hope you guys enjoy it!


Mihala M: Hi!

Mr. McHugh: Hello.


Mihala M: How long have you been in the education field?

Mr. McHugh: 23 years.


Mihala M: What was your first job?

Mr. McHugh: Social Studies teacher at Richmond Hill High School.


Mihala M: Where did you go to college?

Mr. McHugh: I went to Queens College.


Mihala M: How long have you been principal?

Mr. McHugh: Since September 2020.


Mihala M: What is your favorite part of your job?

Mr. McHugh: My favorite part of my job is getting to see how well the students in school are doing.


Mihala M: For someone that wants to be a future principal, what is your advice?

Mr. McHugh: I would get involved in as many parts of a school as possible: clubs, meetings, different perspectives of the school as well as PTA meetings?


Mihala M: What extracurricular activities were you involved in when you went to school?

Mr. McHugh: I was part of the history club, and a research project on improving education.


Mr. McHugh is happy to be here and to be the Principal of our school. With this interview, I learned a lot about Mr. McHugh, and what he did before he became the principal of our school. This interview helped teach myself to admire the people that lead our school because they have done many inspiring things that I aspire to do when I grow up. Thank you to Mr. McHugh for taking his time to let me ask him a few questions.


34 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page