top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

Coffee, Anyday, Everyday



Opening my eyes

And being blinded by the light.

Songs of the birds fill my ear,

As I hear the voices groan.

Another day, but no breaks.

Just a few more weeks to go

I sigh and get up,

The tiredness never stops.


I go and get my cup,

Fill it to the brim.

The smell of coffee in the air

Comforts me to let me know they’re here.

I take a sip

And feel the warm drink at my lip.


I have to go,

I bring my coffee for the road.

The bus arrives and I get on,

And I hear someone playing a foreign song.

My stop arrives

And it is just on time.


Making my way towards the school,

I feel the cool

Breeze passed me.

As I watch the leaves gleam,

I smile thinking, “This is how it ought to be.”


As I make my way

To my homeroom, I say

To myself in my brain:

“Coffee; Everyday, Any day”


22 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page