top of page
  • Zhengyilan Fang, Josephine Zhang, and Milo Tang

We have survived the first year of middle school....so far!



Have you ever been down right cold to the bone? Those of us who have gone through this moment can apply this to the first day of 6th grade. As you approach the entrance of Marie Curie, as you step in you are greeted by strangers! (teachers, admin staff, the Principal) Then you see some old friends. You are nervous, but excited. There is the buzz and chatter in the halls, as we awaited to go to homeroom. For some students, they approach new classmates and thoughts come barging into their head, "What if I get laughed at?" "What if I don’t make new friends?" "What if the teachers don’t like me?" "What if everyone hates me?" We will all share our experiences of our first steps into the world of 6th grade.

Elaine’s Experience

My name is Elaine Fang and this is the story of my first day of 6th grade. When I was on my way to my homeroom I thought to myself, what if something happens and I am unsure of what to do? I was really nervous and scared. As I walked closer and closer towards the door my anxiety hit me, I couldn't move, I started trembling to my feet, but I gathered up all my courage and walked in. The rest of the day was fine, since my classmates were nice and the teachers too! Now 2 months later some things have changed. First of all I’m not scared of going to school anymore and I joined a club! I guess I really didn’t have to worry that much!

Josephine’s Experience

My name is Josephine Zhang and when I first set foot on Marie Curie grounds I was so excited . . . but nervous at the same time. I didn’t know what to do or where to go. Long story short, I was clueless. I knew middle school would be rather different from Elementary school. I knew we had to run around carrying our backpacks. Soon, after I decided not to worry so much, I walked into the school with my friend. As soon as I walked in I was amazed! I went upstairs and I ran around finding my homeroom, I was scared and said to myself What if I don’t make it on time? Finally, when I reached my homeroom, I knew I’d walk into a new classroom with many new faces. I started to worry about everything, such as . . . making friends and getting along with the teachers. When I stepped in and sat down, I knew I didn't have to worry. I saw so many kind faces that I knew I’d get along with. A few months later, I made many friends and all the teachers like my class! Middle school is pretty interesting and fun. But it’s still hard for me to get around because the school is shaped like an “L.”


Milo’s Experience

Thanks for reading this article, I am Milo Tang and this is how I started my adventure into 6th grade. The auditorium was the meeting area and I headed there to find my friend Hugo (who was also in my class). We were both nervous, but I managed to get my over my nerves, having a friend on the first day is a great way to start the school year. In the auditorium the adults told us that we had to get to class, Hugo and I walked side by side, chatting away until we met or homeroom teacher Mrs. Sagliocca.

After settling in, I observed my classmates, some I knew, some I didn’t. First day introductions began, our homeroom the teacher introduced herself and explained everything, Looking around the room I knew I would get along with everyone and I had nothing to worry about. Fast forward to two months later, I know all the teachers and rooms but I’m still trying to find shortcuts throughout the buildings, join clubs, and made friends.


63 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page