top of page
  • Zhengyilan Fang

How to deal with an unwanted grade in school.



It's the day you have been dreading, the unit exam. As comforting as the teacher tries to make us, right before the teacher starts the test, we have all felt the pressure and anxiety starting to crawl up your throat and make your stomach gurgle and growl in vain. Everything starts to shake and become blurry or invisible…seconds later you find yourself in a world where your fears begin to swim and haunt you. Everything spins faster and Faster and FASTER and FASTER until you can’t even comprehend what's happening! You *poof* back to reality and start the test… What… this can’t be…I STUDIED ALL NIGHT FOR THIS TEST you think to yourself!!!!!! Why w-why....


A few days later the score comes out, you are reluctant to see what you received. You think to yourself "I studied, I reviewed and I know I did all I could to get the grade I want and deserve" Then, you look at the score and your hands start to {tremble} and ((shake)) relentlessly, your body freezes and you can’t breathe. Tears start to roll down your face more and more like heavy strings falling without stopping. The teacher yells your name…you look up and see your friends and your teacher holding and hugging you while some start saying and asking “Are you okay?” and “Calm down!!! Are you having a panic attack?”. You shoo them away with the words ” ̶i̶'̶m̶ ̶f̶̶i̶̶n̶̶e̶”.


Have you ever felt like that? If you did, you probably just got a score that you don’t like. But that's why I'm here! To guide you through this process and give you the support you need and maybe what people don’t give you.



Here are the Top 4 reasons why you should not stress over a bad grade:


  1. You're trying your best

You know that sometimes you get a grade that you didn’t want and you’re really guilty of yourself. Tell yourself “This is what I got and there's no changing it. I should just let it go and try better next time!”. Don’t pressure yourself to keep thinking about the failures and the things you didn’t do. It’s fine.


2. Stress and pressure of school

Stress and pressure can block out self-confidence with just thoughts. Sometimes you may think to yourself “Ɏøᵾɍ nøŧ ɇnøᵾǥħ” or “̶w̶̶h̶̶y̶ ̶c̶̶a̶̶n̶'̶t̶ ̶I̶ ̶b̶̶e̶ ̶l̶̶i̶̶k̶̶e̶ ̶t̶̶h̶̶e̶ ̶o̶̶t̶̶h̶̶e̶̶r̶̶s̶” or “I̳̿͟͞'m̳̿͟͞ a̳̿͟͞ F̳̿͟͞a̳̿͟͞i̳̿͟͞l̳̿͟͞u̳̿͟͞r̳̿͟͞e̳̿͟͞”. Self-confidence is one of the most important things to have if you want to pass. One interview from a 7th grader is “A common misconception teachers tend to make is that tests can help evaluate where we are, but in my opinion, it simply stresses kids out, forces them to focus on one subject but they fall behind on another'' Another interview with a 7th grader stated “School is very stressful, I have to do my best because if I get bad grades and stuff I won't get into a good high school. Which might mean I won't get into a good college. Which means I might not have a good and comfortable life when I am older. I have to think about my future, especially now that I am in 7th grade and this is when high schools look at your grades for this year. I am just so stressed to make my record look so good.”


Maintaining good health is one of the most important things to have if you need to take a test. Start by choosing a healthy diet, and stay away from sugary drinks. Although sugar may provide a jolt to your senses, energy from sugar is only temporary. Instead of sugar, drink water or eat fruit and vegetables. Water will hydrate your body, people often feel tired while studying, but sipping on water during a test could help you stay focused. Eating fruit and vegetables will not only keep your mind sharp but also will not lead to fatigue. Also, go for a walk and exercise. If something is really bothering you, turn the walk into a slow jog and if you are really stressed change the jog to a full-out run.


4. ϚӀҽҽք Ꭰҽքɾìѵҽժ?

We all get this the night before the test you get the worst sleep ever. The thing is to have a healthy and early sleep schedule. Something to us humans we all have in common is we all get tired and you might say “What do you mean? I ₦ɆVɆⱤ get tired” Sometimes people do and it's not that no one gets tired you might have been exhausted once and you just ignored it. DON’T ignore the tiredness you need to rest to achieve good grades.


15 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page