top of page
  • Christiana and Cynthia

Hit the Lights!



This year the theater club is full of revolting children…

because we are doing MATILDA JR!! Matilda Jr is based on Matilda the musical which is based on Matilda by Roald Dahl. If you didn’t know, this book is about a girl Matilda, who is 5 years old, and a genius. She has horrible parents (cough cough me) who treat her badly and a brother who is double her age but is illiterate. She goes to school and meets Ms. Honey, a teacher who recognizes her potential. Matilda goes on to rebel against her unfair headmaster with her classmates and wins!

The theater club started on a 3-year grant because it is now over we need funds. If your parents want to donate clothes for costumes, materials for props, or money for anything else we might need, it is greatly appreciated. Although you might not think that theater is a worthy cause, it is a great place for kids to build confidence in a judgment-free zone. They also get tons of fun experiences and can make friends they might have never even looked at. Musical theater is amazing because it is the only art form that combines all areas of the fine arts: acting, singing, dancing, and visual arts. It also improves literacy skills! An example of that might be memorizing lines and learning to tell a story. It builds courage and helps you become a confident public speaker, you have to perform in front of an audience. By being part of theater you gain critical thinking and problem-solving skills. During rehearsals, when problems may come, being in theater helps you stay on your feet. However, it is too late to join the club. But, there is always next year!

If you want to watch the theater club perform Matilda Jr. there will be 2 show days: Friday, May 31, 2024, and Saturday, Jun 1, 2024.



Interviews:


We interviewed the two teachers who are working to make this musical happen: 


Ms. Allen-

What made you choose Matilda to do this year?

 First, Matilda has a lot of roles so we can have a big cast, second, there are a lot of ensemble songs so everyone gets to be involved. Finally, it's a lot of fun to do. 


What is your favorite aspect of theater?

I love musical theater so it is fun to be able to do that at work. I get to work with a lot of students that aren't in chorus so it is a good way to get to know more students in the school.


What was your favorite moment in the theater?

When the Into the Woods Jr cast performed on Broadway.


What are you excited about in the theater this year?

I think people will like the show Matilda a lot in general.



Ms. Carlucci-


How does it feel to co-lead the musical this year?

It feels exciting. It is something brand new. I have never done a musical before so I am excited to be part of something new.


How did you come up with the choreography?

It's a mix of my own choreography and Broadway Jr’s choreography and then I adapt it to fit our needs. But if I were to choreograph this myself, I would listen to the music and base it on the relevant emotions. 


Have you had any experience choreographing a musical before?

I have not choreographed a musical theater show before, but I have choreographed musical theater songs. These include songs from Motown, Shrek, Frozen, and Dear Evan Hansen.


What is your opinion on musicals?

I am a big fan of all kinds of musicals, I have watched a bunch of musicals.


Have you been in a musical before?

No, I wish. 


How did you cast the characters for the musical?

It’s a process. It is a combination of seeing what roles the students want to be in and seeing the vocal audition and the dancing audition. Then we see if and the acting audition. A big part of it is matching the personality to the character.


What are your favorite aspects of musical theater?

 I would say being able to see your confidence come out, and how the characters come out on stage you really.



Next, we interviewed some fellow students who are participating in the theater club.


Gabriel Nuxoll-


Why did you join the theater club?

I joined because I thought that um, because uh… Ms. Allen and Teacher Paterson said I should because I was always dancing in the back of the auditorium while I was doing stage crew.


What is your role?

Nigel.


What was the role(s) you auditioned for?

Bruce, Nigel, and Eric.


Are you happy with your role?

Yes, very much so.


Jonathan Richman-


Why did you join the theater club?

I joined the theater club because I thought it would be a fun experience and a great way to express my opinions in a club.


What is your role?

I am a stage manager.


What does that job do?

I help manage the backstage and play music in the back of the auditorium.


Abigail Mo-


Why did you join the theater club?

Because I wanted to meet new friends and I liked the school trip last year and I had a lot of fun.


What is your role?

I’m part of the ensemble.


What was the role(s) you auditioned for?

Every female role except for Trunchbull, Matilda, and Ms. Honey.


Are you happy with your role?

Yeah, I’m happy because the ensemble is very involved in this show.


Angelique Seniquous-


Why did you join the theater club?

I joined the theater club because I used to watch a lot of musicals when I was younger and I wanted to be in one as well.


What is your role?

Ms.Honey.


What was the role(s) you auditioned for?

Ms. Honey, Lavender, and ensemble


Are you happy with your role?

Yes, I'm really happy.


To sum up, there are many great things about the theater club. Not only do you get to exercise all the different aspects of the arts, but you also find yourself in a welcoming community where there is no judgment. It might just be me being biased, but I feel that theater really has opened many doors for me. I get to make new connections with people that I would have never talked to before. This fact makes all of the hard work worth it! It’s also rewarding to see at the end, how everyone comes together to play their part. If you’re convinced, you should join the theater club next year! Whether you enjoy working backstage or enjoy the thrill of being on the stage, theater is really a fun experience that you will remember for a lifetime.


41 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page