top of page
  • Jonathan Richman and Timothy Um

High School Acceptance!


There were tears of happiness, and tears of sadness yesterday, or if you're reading in the future, the dreaded MARCH 7TH 2024! Although for 6th and 7tth graders this was a normal day, this was a wild ride of a day for the 8th graders, as it was high school acceptance day!


For these high school applications, there are two different types. The first are the public high schools such as Benjamin Cardozo, Francis Lewis and Bayside High. The next are specialized high schools which require a certain SHSAT score to be accepted. These specialized high schools include Stuyvesant, Fiorello H. LaGuardia (Which actually doesn’t require an SHSAT score, rather an audition or submission of art), and Bronx Science. As you have heard about before, the high school acceptance letters have been released yesterday or on March 7, 2024. These letters showed which of these high schools you were accepted into.    


Both of us have gotten into schools that will really benefit us in the future. Jonathan (me) got into Fiorello H. LaGuardia school of performing arts and Frank Sinatra school of the arts. Personally, it is hard to choose being they are both good schools as well as my other option, St Francis Prep, I find it hard to choose which one to apply to. (All schools are for instrumental music on the French Horn).


Timothy (me) got into DaVinci Science/Math Biomedical Benjamin N. Cardozo. This program will be great for me and will help me find my own paths and future.


Enough about us, let's hear about some of the other 8th graders. Some questions we will ask are the following:


  • What high school did you get into?

  • Why did you choose to go here?

  • Are you happy to be attending this one rather than a different school?

  • What are you most looking forward to?


Our first response is from Kaiden Lee of Class 806. He said the following:


Question 1: What high school did you get into?


Answer 1: “I got into LaGuardia high school for instrumental music in flute”


Question 2: Why did you choose to go here?


Answer 2: “I chose to go here because it offers many music classes like history and theory, as well as many bands and orchestras, as well as great academics as well as AP Classes.” 


Question 3: Are you happy to be attending this one rather than a different school?


Answer 3: “I wouldn’t want any other schools because I want to continue to improve  in music.


Question 4: What are you most looking forward to?


Answer 4: “I am most looking forward to music theory.”


Our next interviewee is an anonymous 8th grader. They said the following:


Question 1: What high school did you get into?


Answer 1: “I got into Bronx science high school”


Question 2: Why did you choose to go here?


Answer 2: “I chose to go here for the great academic reasons and the clubs they offer.”


Question 3: Are you happy to be attending this one rather than a different school?


Answer 3: “Although I was hoping for Stuyvesant, Bronx science is a great second choice, and I think I should feel lucky for what I have gotten into.”


Question 4: What are you most looking forward to?


Answer 4: “I am most looking forward to being with my friends and clubs that Bronx Science offers.”


All in all, even if it wasn’t the best experience, or it was great for you, I think everyone is happy and will adjust to what they got into, and should be proud of what they were able to accomplish!


43 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page