top of page
  • Khloe Toy

Be a part of your school and join a club.




When are all of the news articles you see on our website written? Where are they written? The answer is simple, here in newspaper club, we write articles about the current events in our school and in our world. Mr. Ng is the lead teacher who empowers all of his students to write about what’s happening in the school. He encourages us to write about music– Mr. Ng really inspires all of the student news reporters to write about anything we want, as long as it is appropriate and not about old news.


When I was a 6th grader, I joined newspaper club and it was super fun. This year I decided to rejoin and I’m excited to continue writing articles. Freedom of the press and freedom of speech is very important at Marie Curie 158 where students are allowed to write what we want to write, and we can share our thoughts with everyone who reads our article. We can even collaborate with our fellow peers to work on an article.


There are 36 people in our club, and we all try our best to keep our readers updated on the current events. Our members are always actively working during our meeting while having fun with others at the same time! We share our ideas with each other and we give each other constructive criticism so all of us can improve.


Here are some of my fellow peers’ opinions:


“Newspaper is my favorite club! I love being able to write my opinions, hanging out with my peers, and it’s a overall enjoyable club!” – Abigail Mo 701

“The Newspaper Club is a very critical club in our schools, and I always fight with my friend from 74 about whose Newspaper Club is better. :)” – Tobias Kang 707


"Newspaper Club is a good way to work together and collaborate with others. It’s a good way to socialize with people and let your creativity flow.” – Anonymous


“Amazing, I get to write articles about my opinions and important topics. It’s a wonderful place to make friends in all grades, especially lonely 6th graders”- Anonymous 7th Grader

“Newspaper Club is great. It helped improve my communication skills.” – Anasofia Duque


"Being the teacher for this club is really fun. We get to have fun getting to know the school. We get to have fun while socializing with different peers. It's really great to see who will be the future journalist in our world. When The Curious Times first started, we were still printed on paper. Now, with the help of Kaitlyn Toy who graduated in 2021, The Curious Times is fully digital, online and accessible anywhere. I hope we continue to build on this legacy."


Overall, newspaper club is a really good club to join and I look forward to writing more articles. This club can improve our writing skills, it could also work on our teamwork skills and build confidence in our voice.


106 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page