top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

Why Are After School Programs Important?

Updated: Nov 22, 2023



If you are new to this school, or starting the 8th grade, how do you like the after school activities our school offers? How many after school programs are you in? Hi, my name is Ryan Ng and I am a 6th grade student here at M.S.158. When I was a 5th grade student at P.S 188, the school did have after school programs, but I never went. Maybe I was a bit young to join afterschool clubs, but I feel like I missed out on opportunities to grow socially.


This year, to become a better part of the school community, I decided to join The Curious Times school newspaper, Asian Culture Club and FELLAS (peer mentoring club). I decided to join because I was interested in what was going on in these clubs. At first, I had some difficulty feeling like I belong in these clubs, but I soon overcame it thanks to the Teacher/Supervisor Mr. Ng.


There are many privileges that you have if you join a club. In some clubs, you can participate in many field trips and have wonderful snacks. Even better, you can make more friends. You can interact with them. According to k.state.edu, "Children benefit greatly from having friends." This is why you should join a club, have more friends. The more often you interact with people the more likely you will be able to make friends. In summary, joining afterschool programs can help you build relationships. Also, according to the site Northwestern medicine, "the relationships we form with other people are vital to our mental and emotional well-being and even our survival." This tells me that healthy relationships are important to our mental health as well as supporting each other emotionally. Joining clubs is one positive way to make friends.


Throughout your school years and into adulthood having friends is important and going to clubs is one way to have friends.


20 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page