top of page
  • Gabriel Nuxoll

Stanley's: Overrated or A Revolutionary Invention: Part One



Have you heard or seen the popular Stanley water bottles around our school? Well, it's a marketing scheme released by the Stanley company to increase sales since they were going to discontinue the cup. Is it just a simple overrated water container or a revolutionary invention?


Over the course of several days I interviewed middle school students about their perspective on Stanley cups by asking: “What do you think about the Stanley cup?”


"Anasofia Duque 702: “I think a lot of people over-hyped it, it's just some random thermos from some old company.”


"Laila Duque 708: “I don’t think it should have been as popular as it should be, it's good but like there are others that are cheaper and work the same.”


"Rua Kim 708: “They’re overrated.”


"Nadia Tsou 620: “I don’t have much of an opinion about Stanleys since I don’t use them, but I think they’re kind of cool…?”


"Abigail Mo 701 “They’re so overrated. A girl in my ballet school said “i got a Stanley for Christmas because barbie’s are so overrated.”


"Michelle Garcia 705: “It’s kinda useless, if you turn it upside down, all of it will spill out. and its kinda fat.”


"Tobias Kang 707: “They’re not bad”


"Mr. Ng ELA Teacher: “I think it is a complete total waste of money on for a teenage student, sometimes you are late beacuse of a heavy bookbag, how can you make it to class on time and carry a Stanley around all day.”


"Isabella’s Mariscal 807: I think it’s bad because it has lead in it so you could get lead poisoning. Stanley admitted that they use lead inside their products. With the regular Stanley, there’s a little circle on the bottom, and if that gets scratched, then all the lead gets released and you can get lead poisoning.”


"Two Anonymous Students both said: “Overrated”


"Evangeline Morales 805: “I don't like them. I mean they’re really practical but you can also die from it. 😭”


"Eshal Imam 606: “They’re fine, but have a LOT of flaws. I heard there is lead in it, and if you tip it, it can spill. So I would say overrated and not worth the hype and money”



"Diamond Zhao 806: “In my opinion, I love my Stanley even if it gives me lead poisoning. It keeps your drink cool and trendy."


Although… Like most things in life it has its cons. It's heavy and it might give me lead poisoning but if you think about it the brand has been around for roughly 100 years! Now if you say that no cases have been reported then is it really that bad..? Anyways, I will continue to drink from my Stanley… oh well.”


37 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page