top of page
  • Chloe Lin and Jaime Hwang

PEER COUNSELING




As a 6th grade student, it was common to find myself being constantly harassed because of the way I looked or behaved. Whenever the teacher called on me, I would go silent and the class would immediately start laughing and whispering, assuming that I was unintelligent. 


After months of being in school and having to deal with this treatment, my mental and emotional health started to decline. No matter how clearly I stated or showed discomfort, my peers would brush it off and ridicule me for their entertainment. I remember coming back home and asking myself why I couldn’t fit their standards. Unfortunately, this is a shared experience among many other students. 


Many schools encourage students who are facing similar issues to seek help from an adult. However, this solution may not always work as some students feel uncomfortable with sharing their personal experiences, thoughts, or feelings with adults. This usually happens due to the fear of an adult making the situation worse for them. So, what’s the solution for this?


A possible solution is one-on-one peer counseling. Schools can set up private discussions between two students to help them face a personal issue. Research has proven that 75-85% of teens are more comfortable with peers than adults. According to npr.org, teenagers are more influenced by people in their age group rather than adults, which can make them more comfortable talking to other students.  


What we can do is spread awareness about peer counseling. I want you to inform your friends and family, speak to your representatives about what we should do, and use your voice for many students who are struggling to reach out to an adult. Imagine a world where students won’t have to worry about being harassed over the way they look or the way they act.


Our school has two teacher-led/student-led peer counseling programs F.E.L.L.A.S (For Every Lesson Learned Achieve Success) and G.E.M.S. To find out more information on F.E.L.L.A.S please reach out to Mr. Ng in classroom 228. F.E.L.L.A.S meet every Thursday.


7 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Marie Curie 158 Sharing Closet

Good afternoon, students of Marie Curie Middle school–another day passes, we walk in these halls, oblivious to the problems around us. Fortunately, there is a group of students, along with some awesom

bottom of page