top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

Goodbye To A Childhood


Everyday as the sun sets,

Everyday as the time flies.

I grow older and I feel like I might die.

Death is not what scares me,

No, I welcome death greatly.

The only thing that fuels my fear,

Is when I think about how quickly

next year will appear.

More years add up,

And more of my blissful ignorance disappears in a puff.


I remember when I was one,

So shiny and fun.

Then I became two,

My brain filled with silly rules.

Next came three,

When I loved climbing up things.

Then Four, Five, Six, and Seven come by,

To let my imagination fly.

Eight, Nine, and Ten.

“Oh how wonderful this life is!”

Eleven, and Twelve.

Oh dear, I think reality and my imagination are starting to meld.

Thirteen.

My life is not so blissful as it once seemed.

Soon-to-be Fourteen.

“And there goes all of my dreams.”


Oh how time flew by.

As quick as a blink of an eye.

I still remember when life was bliss,

When I wasn’t a mess like this.

When I appeared on the earth, I thought,

“I know this life will be great!.”

But little did I know that someday,

All of my ambitions would fade away.


Remember when we were young?

Remember when we had fun?

Remember when life was a bliss?

Remember when we didn’t have so much stress like this?

I hate how my life is now,

Although there are friends who could help me out.

I just hate when my innocence fades away,

All of my hope, wasted for this day.


9 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page