top of page
  • Writer's picturePAUL NG

From the minds of a Marie Curie 6th grader

Updated: Dec 19, 2021

Various Opinions on Winterfest… By Pelagia Harris


At MS. 158 we celebrate the holidays with a whole months worth of activities called Winterfest. Students have a variety of feelings about Winterfest, one thing is certain these events are one of a kind. Not all schools get to celebrate the holidays three weeks in a row at school. Maybe this is just me, but I’d rather do Winterfest than school work. (Not that I hate school, just a break once in a while would be nice though.) Winterfest is a cheerful thing, something a whole school can celebrate, and an opportunity like that is rare, so if you ever get to, grab it and enjoy it.


Students had different opinions about winterfest. One of them said “I hate Winterfest because I feel depressed.” Although Maya Gawish has a whole other opinion. She said “Winterfest makes me feel amazing because I love the holidays.” These two kids had different opinions, which makes me wonder how many others agree or disagree with these students. Alysa Wang said “Winterfest makes me feel ok because I’m not that festive.” People are disagreeing with each other about how Winterfest is to them, the main point of Winterfest is to have people work together and everyone is competing, yet showing holiday spirit. Another student said “Winterfest makes me feel sort of excited because my birthday is in December as well” This student has several things to celebrate, and Winterfest in a way is giving her a ‘chance’ to celebrate it.


Some students are unsure about Winterfest, a student said “Winterfest makes me feel confused because we don’t always know what to do.” I would say that this student has a point, there are a lot of things that us students could do to help patch up some holes in Winterfest. Another student says “Winterfest makes me bored because I don’t really care about Winterfest.” At this time these kinds of things bore students, but the fact that MS.158 is out there celebrating the holidays during a rough period of time is amazing, so hang on. A student named Amelia Raushan said “I like Winterfest because it has different challenges” True, Winterfest has tons of different challenges which makes it so special to celebrate.

Students are entitled to their opinions, but always remember that Winterfest is a reminder to celebrate your family, your friends, and everything in your life, and most of all have fun. Even when things get rocky. Happy Winterfest, and remember to think about why we celebrate the holidays.

115 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page